Campus Sustainability Menu

When you absolutely can’t avoid travel as part of your work at the university, iSEE has provided a guide to purchasing carbon offsets! Visit the guide >>>

More on Transportation

More about Sustainable Transportation on campus

Transportation iCAP Team

Poster displaying key points from the iCAP 2020 Transportation theme.

“At-a-glance” key points from the iCAP 2020 Transportation theme. Click for an enlarged version.

Read iCAP 2020 Chapter 3: Transportation >>>

Want to get involved? View our Transportation Next Steps >>>

The Transportation Team, which formed in 2014 and continued with expanded numbers of students, faculty, and staff starting in 2019, is examining the Illinois Climate Action Plan goals and accomplishments in this theme.

The University of Illinois improved its reporting on air travel emissions between 2010 and 2015. A new baseline was established based on new reporting rules and techniques, and the 2015 iCAP will work from this more solid baseline in calling for a 23% reduction by FY20, and then an additional 15% reduction by FY25.

To make progress in this area, campus intends to implement a new campus bike plan and other sustainable transportation options and encourage carpooling and teleconferencing whenever possible to reduce miles traveled.

iCAP Topical Teams report annually on progress made toward Illinois Climate Action Plan objectives in their area of focus. 

Read a 2024 update on iCAP progress in transportation >>>


Current Team Members
  • Faculty: Ria Kontou, Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering (2020-)
  • Faculty: John Rubins, Senior Lecturer in English (2023-)
  • Staff: Sarthak Prasad, Facilities & Services Sustainability Specialist (2019-) Read more about Sarthak >>>
  • Staff: Erin Kristovich, Accounting Officer, Parking Department (2023-)
  • Student: Mitchell Bryant, Ph.D. in Bioengineering (2022-) Read more about Mitchell >>>
  • Student: Sebastian Vega, Undergraduate in Chemical Engineering (2023-) Read more about Sebastian >>>
  • Clerk: Olivia Messerges, Undergraduate in Agricultural & Consumer Economics (2023-) (Email) Read more about Olivia >>>

Retired Team Members

  • Faculty: Alireza Talebpour, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering (2022-23)
  • Faculty: Bumsoo Lee, Associate Professor of Urban and Regional Planning (2015-16, 2022-23) Read more about Bumsoo >>>
  • Staff: Yasmin Ofiana, Office Support Associate, Campus Wellbeing Services (2021-23)
  • Staff: Paul Slezak, Facilities Manager, Parking Department (2019-2023)
  • Student: Izabel Acosta, Undergraduate (2022-23)
  • Student: Scotlyn Belew, Undergraduate (2022-23)
  • Clerk: Tyler Swanson, Undergraduate in Environmental Economics and Policy (2021-23) Read more about Tyler >>>
  • Faculty: Lindsay Braun, Assistant Professor of Urban + Regional Planning (2020-22)
  • Faculty: Yanfeng Ouyang, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering (2015-22)
  • Student: Zhuying (Iris) Dai, Undergraduate (2021-22)
  • Student: Gus Lackner, Undergraduate in Economics and Chemistry (2021-22) Read more about Gus >>>
  • Student: Pranjali Shah, M.S. student in Urban Planning (2021-22) Read more about Pranjali >>>
  • Student: Christine Chung, Undergraduate in Electrical Engineering (2021) Read more about Christine >>>
  • Staff: Michele Guerra, Director of Wellbeing, Illinois Human Resources (2020-21)
  • Student: Rhea Joshi, Undergraduate in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (2020-21)
  • Student: Claire Rathslag, Undergraduate in Civil Engineering (2020-21)
  • Clerk: Julija Sakutyte, Undergraduate in Molecular and Cellular Biology (2018-21) (Email) Read more about Julija >>>
  • Student: Vaidehi Ambardekar, Undergraduate in Computer Engineering and Innovation, Leadership and Engineering Entrepreneurship (2020)
  • Faculty: Julie Cidell (Chair), Associate Professor of Geography and Geographic Information Science (2017-20)
  • Faculty: Lindsay Braun, Assistant Professor of Urban & Regional Planning (2019-20)
  • Staff: Peter Varney, Facilities & Services Director of Transportation & Automotive Services (2014-20) Read more about Pete >>>
  • Student: Zhuo Chen, Ph.D. Candidate in Geography (2019-20)
  • Student: Trevor Gresham, Undergraduate in Civil Engineering (2019-20) Read more about Trevor >>>
  • Student: Marie Hubbard, Undeclared Undergraduate (2019-20) Read more about Marie >>>
  • Staff: David Ivey, Parking Manager, Parking Department (2018-19) Read more about David >>>
  • Student: Abigail Clem, M.S. Candidate in Energy Systems Engineering (2018-19)
  • Student: Zishen “Norman” Ye, Undergraduate in Urban Studies and Planning (2018-19) Read more about Zishen >>>
  • Staff: Lily Wilcock, Facilities & Services Active Transportation Coordinator (2017-18) Read more about Lily >>>
  • Student: Jamie Wiberg, Undergraduate in Architectural Studies (Fall 2018; moved to ECBS SWATeam)
  • Clerk: Rebekah Jonas, Undergraduate in Earth, Society, and Environmental Sustainability (Fall 2018)
  • Student: Tulsi Chudgar, Undergraduate in Civil Engineering (2017-18) Read more about Tulsi >>>
  • Student: Ankit Singhai, M.S. Candidate in Civil and Environmental Engineering (2016-18) Read more about Ankit >>>
  • Clerk: Rebecca Laurent, Undergraduate in Political Science (2017-18)
  • Faculty: Imad Al-Qadi, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering (2016-17)
  • Student: Claire Dodinval, Undergraduate in Civil and Environmental Engineering (2016-17) Read more about Claire >>>
  • Student: Joshua Feldman, Undergraduate in Mechanical Engineering (2016-17)
  • Staff: Brian Farber, Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs (2015-17)
  • Student: Zhaodong Wang, Undergraduate in Civil and Environmental Engineering (2015-16)
  • Staff: Richard Langlois, Tech Services Senior e-Learning Professional (2014-16) Read more about Richard >>>
  • Student: Justin Licke, Undergraduate (2014-16) Read more about Justin >>>
  • Clerk: Ben Cigelnik, Undergraduate in Chemistry (2014-16)
  • Faculty: Wojtek Chodzo-Zajko, Professor of Kinesiology and Community Health (2014-15)
  • Student: Garrett Fullerton, Undergraduate (2014-15) Read more about Garrett >>>
  • Student: Grace Kyung, M.S. student (2014-15) Read more about Grace >>>