Envisioning Equitable

Transitions to Sustainable

Transportation Systems

A UIUC-UIC Collaborative Workshop

Sponsored by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation


May 16-17, 2024

Student Center East, University of Illinois Chicago

750 S. Halsted Street, Chicago, IL 60607

About this Event

Over two days, “Envisioning Equitable Transitions to Sustainable Transportation Systems” will bring together a diverse group of researchers, educators, industry professionals, and activists to discuss urgent questions about transitioning to low-carbon transportation systems — whatever they might be — while addressing the needs of all populations regardless of race, ethnicity, or socioeconomic standing. The goals of this gathering are to introduce attendees to cutting-edge issues surrounding sustainable transportation and social justice, to build bridges across different approaches, disciplines, and geographies, and to chart new directions toward a sustainable, and just, future.

This event, a collaboration between the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and the University of Illinois Chicago (UIC), is supported by generous funding from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. 

U of I organizing committee members include Eleftheria Kontou, Assistant Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering; Yanfeng Ouyang, Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering; Juan Salamanca, Assistant Professor of Graphic Design & Design for Responsible Innovation; Julie Cidell, Professor of Geography and Geographic Information Services; Madhu Khanna, iSEE Director and Professor of Agricultural & Consumer Economics; Luis F. Rodríguez, iSEE Associate Director and Professor of Agricultural & Biological Engineering; Philip Krein, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering; Peter Christensen, Associate Professor of Agricultural & Consumer Economics; Bumsoo Lee, Associate Professor of Urban & Regional Planning; and Samantha Lindgren, Assistant Professor of Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership.

UIC organizing committee members include Christelle Khalaf, Associate Director of the Government Finance Research Center; Selva Ndarajah, Associate Professor of Information and Decision Sciences; and P.S. Siraj, Director of the Urban Transportation Center and Director of Metropolitan Transportation Support Initiative (METSI) and Research Programs.