Brawn to Help Lead Levenick Scholars

In Spring 2020, iSEE welcomes Jeffrey Brawn as the inaugural Stuart L. and Nancy J. Levenick Chair in Sustainability, the first endowed chair in the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences (NRES).

Part of Brawn’s activities will be to organize and manage the Levenick Resident Scholars in Sustainability Leadership Program at iSEE, and the Institute looks forward to continuing its close ties with him. As the former NRES Head, Brawn served on iSEE’s Steering Committee since its inception in 2013-14.

“We are extremely grateful to Stuart and Nancy Levenick for their recognition of NRES faculty and the University of Illinois as global leaders in the interdisciplinary science and practice of sustainability,” College of ACES Dean Kim Kidwell said in a December news release. “Dr. Brawn has been an invaluable part of the ACES leadership team, generously extending his role as department head at my request. Over the past decade, he has shaped NRES into the vibrant department it is today, bringing together faculty with expertise in natural resource management and in the ever-critical human dimensions of the environment. I am grateful to Dr. Brawn for his service to the department and the college and I am delighted that he will be receiving this richly deserved honor.”

Read the full news release from Kidwell >>>