iSee Logo
INSTITUTE FOR SUSTAINABILITY, ENERGY, AND ENVIRONMENT
UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN
Select Page

iSEE Hiring Postdoctoral Fellow for New Thematic Research Project

The Institute for Sustainability, Energy and Environment (iSEE) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign invites applications for a postdoctoral fellow position for one year with a possible extension to three years.

As a member of iSEE’s new thematic research project “Critical Infrastructure and Transportation,” the successful candidate will conduct research for a multidisciplinary project to study interdependence, resilience and sustainability of critical infrastructure systems for the development of multiple energy sources toward sustainable vehicular transportation. The details of the project are available upon request.

Applicants should have a Ph.D. degree in civil and environmental engineering, industrial engineering, operations research power system engineering, or other fields related to infrastructural systems and natural resource management with some background/interest in economics and sociology. The successful candidate is expected to have research background and a publication record in operations research and infrastructure system analysis, as well as excellent oral and written communication skills. Experiences with economic policy analysis and computer science (or computing) will be a plus. The fellow is expected to collaborate closely with researchers from multiple fields such as engineering, environmental sciences, economics and sociology.

Any questions regarding the requirements for the position can be discussed with any of the following faculty members: Ximing Cai, xmcai@illinois.edu; Madhu Khanna, khanna1@illinois.edu; Hadi Meidani, meidani@illinois.edu; Thomas Overbye, overbye@illinois.edu; Yanfeng Ouyang, yfouyang@illinois.edu; Ashlynn Stillwell, ashlynn@illinois.edu; Albert Valocchi, valocchi@illinois.edu; Shaowen Wang, shaowen@illinois.edu; and Hao Zhu, haozhu@illinois.edu.

Interested and qualified individuals should submit a detailed resume, including academic and professional experiences, a list of publications, and names and contact information of three references by Nov. 1, 2015. Contacts and application materials should be emailed to Ms. Amy Rosenbery, husted@illinois.edu. Review of completed applications will begin Nov. 1 and continue until the position is filled.

Click here to read more about this project and the other three that iSEE seed-funded in summer 2015.